Representation on Committes/Bodies


OEB helps formulate national socio-economic policy through direct participation of its representatives in tripartite Advisory Boards or Committees, which deal with economic, labour, industrial and social and European issues.

The most important of these are the following:

Ministry of Labour and Social Insurance

  • Labour Advisory Board
  • National Committee on Employment
  • Social Insurance Council
  • Annual Leave’s Central Fund Council
  • Employer’s Insolvency Fund Council
  • Redundancy Fund Council
  • Human Resource Development Authority Board
  • Productivity Council
  • Apprenticeship Council
  • District Labour Offices Advisory Committees
  • Pancyprian Council on Health and Safety
  • Pancyprian Council for People with Disabilities
  • District Advisory Committees for the Tourist Shops’ Opening Hours
  • Committee for Gender Equality in Employment and Vocational Training
  • Rehabilitation of the Disabled Council
  • Occupational Retirement Provision Fund Council

Ministry of Finance

  • Advisory Economic Committee
  • Statistics Council

Ministry of Commerce and Industry

  • Advisory Committee for Industrial Development
  • Board of Directors of the Cyprus Standardisation & Certification Company
  • Board of Directors of the Cyprus Organisation for the Promotion of Quality
  • Board of Directors of the Institute of Technology
  • Consumers’ Advisory Committee

Ministry of Justice and Public Order

  • National Machinery for Womens’ Rights
  • Body for the Womens’ Rights Council
  • Prisons Council
  • Centre of Guidance, Outer-Institutional Employment and Rehabilitation of Prisoners Committee

Ministry of Health

  • Health Insurance Organisation Management Board (GESY)

Ministry of Communication and Works

  • Council of Road Transport

Ministry of Interior

  • Port Labour Council of Larnaca

Ministry of Education and Culture

  • Advisory Committee of Tertiary Education
  • Advisory Body on Technical and Vocational Training

Ministry of Agriculture

  • National Environment Council
  • Advisory Committee on Waste Material Packaging Management

Planning Bureau

  • Planning Advisory Committee


  • Industrial Disputes Tribunal
  • Cyprus Radiotelevision Advisory Committee
  • Other ad-hoc Committees


In the European Union

  • European Social Dialogue Committee
  • European Economic and Social Committee
  • European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions
  • European Agency for Safety and Health at Work
  • European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP)
  • Advisory Committee on Vocational Training (ACVT)
  • National Coordinators of the European Charter for SMEs
  • European Social Fund

OEB’s constructive contribution in the above-mentioned and other bodies serves the interests of the business community and those of the society as a whole.